Welcoming a new class and honoring Drury’s top students and faculty at the Matriculation Convocation

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., August 22, 2013 — Drury University’s new president welcomed the new class, and the University recognized outstanding faculty members and second year students at the 2013 Matriculation Convocation on Thursday, Aug. 22 in Clara Thompson Hall.

Dr. David Manuel, who became Drury’s 17th president on June 1, 2013, told the new class, “I, too, am beginning a new adventure. Together we will progress to new summits, and throughout this adventure you and I have to remember that we cannot reach our goals alone. Just as I will, I encourage you to use all of the tools, talents and resources available to you at Drury University to move forward and to reach your own goals.”

Drury President Dr. David Manuel and Dr. Patricia Morris

A student and faculty committee selected recipients of the Faculty Awards. The committee receives nominations from students, faculty, administrators and alumni. Each of the honorees is recognized for challenging, engaging and inspiring students both inside and outside the classroom.

▪       Faculty Award for Teaching — Beth Harville, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology.

▪       Faculty Award for Scholarship — Cristina Gilstrap, Ph.D., associate professor of communication and Patricia Morris, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology.

▪       Faculty Award for Leadership — Christopher Panza, Ph.D., associate professor of philosophy.

▪       Faculty Award for Liberal Learning — Rebecca Miller, M.F.A., associate professor of art and art history

▪       Faculty Award for Advising —Jeanie Allen, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology

Drury President Dr. David Manuel addresses the new class of Drury students

In addition, the Judge Warren White Scholars were honored at the Matriculation Convocation. These are the students with the highest grade point averages after completion of the first year at Drury. Warren White graduated from Drury in 1904, and served as a Greene County circuit court judge for 36 years. Each honoree will receive a $275 scholarship.

The 2013-2014 Judge Warren L. White Scholars are (name and hometown):

  • Maisie Ann Baldwin, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Jared Steven Austin Bishop, Rogersville, Mo.
  • Hannah Rae Cook, Ozark, Mo.
  • Sara Michelle Cook, Springfield, Mo.
  • Abigail Owen Delawder, Springfield, Mo.
  • Humberto Josue Detrinidad Arguello, Managua, Nicaragua
  • Irene Yessenia Detrinidad Arguello, Managua, Nicaragua
  • Paulina Marie Doran, Springfield, Mo.
  • Jonas Alexander Gassmann, Columbia, Mo.
  • Heather Lyn Gladfelter, Goshen, Ind.
  • Taylor William Hand, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Taylor Jennae Kleier, Springfield, Mo.
  • Mallory Elizabeth Long, Republic, Mo.
  • Sarah Nicole Metz, Springfield, Mo.
  • William Mark Pearl, Willard, Mo.
  • Daniel Charles Richards, Marionville, Mo.
  • Rachel Paige Ryan, Hazelwood, Mo.
  • Mikaela Elizabeth Speakes, Robertsville, Mo.
  • Jessica Ellyn Tay, Springfield, Mo.
  • Tessa Beryl Tilton, Springfield, Mo.
  • Casey Alexandra Vaclavik, St. Louis, Mo.