outstanding faculty

Livesay named 2014 Sherman Emerging Scholar

Dr. Dan Livesay, assistant history professor at Drury, has been named the Sherman Emerging Scholar for 2014. Livesay will travel to the University of North Carolina Wilmington in late October to deliver a public lecture about his research, speak in a graduate class and share his expertise with other scholars.

The Sherman Emerging Scholar award is a national award presented by UNC-Wilmington annually to a promising young scholar. It gives the winner a platform to discuss perspectives, research, concepts and approaches to modern issues and theories in history, politics and international affairs.

Dr. Daniel Livesay

Dr. Daniel Livesay

Livesay’s lecture, titled “Race and the Making of Family in the Atlantic World,” will relate his research about mixed-race families in the 18th century to modern day debates about race and family in the United States. Growing racial complexities and family belonging were important issues then as they are now.

“Because I was selected by a committee of historians working on lots of different periods of time and topics, it was very encouraging to discover that my particular research had something of a broad appeal,” Livesay says. “It’s also very exciting to present my work to a large group of people who know absolutely nothing about my area of expertise. As academics, we can sometimes feel that we are only talking to a very narrow group of people about our research, and so I’m thrilled that I can present it to people from all different walks of life and intellectual interests.”

In total, Livesay spent 10 years researching, writing, and revising his work, which is now in the process of being published in book form by UNC Press.

The Emerging Scholar Award comes at the heels of another honor – the National Endowment for the Humanities “We the People” Fellowship in African American History – which allowed him to spend this past summer researching at the Rockefeller Library in Williamsburg, Va.

Livesay conducts most of his research during the academic breaks and focuses on teaching during the semesters, but he does devote some time in the mornings to continue researching throughout the school year. As a scholar and professor, Livesay says he inevitably finds documents and sources that he can use in his syllabus. He also incorporates some his own research and findings into the classroom.

“I think students get excited to see what their professors are experts in,” Livesay says. “They give good feedback and often show me something I hadn’t thought about before—they add a new perspective.”

Livesay received his Ph.D. in History from the University of Michigan in 2010 and came to Drury in 2012. He teaches courses on the history of early America, transatlantic slavery and indigenous people in the Americas.


Story by Kaleigh Jurgensmeyer, English and writing major at Drury. A version of this story first appeared in the Springfield News-Leader.

Drury honors its outstanding faculty and students

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., Aug. 24, 2012 — Drury University recognized outstanding faculty members at the 2012-2013 Matriculation Convocation on Thursday, Aug. 23. A student and faculty committee selected recipients of these awards. The committee receives nominations from students, faculty, administrators and alumni. Each of these faculty members is recognized for challenging, engaging and inspiring students both inside and outside the classroom.

  • Robert Weddle, Ph.D. – Faculty Award for Teaching
  • Jennifer Silva Brown, Ph.D. – Faculty Award for Scholarship
  • Katherine Gilbert, Ph.D. – Faculty Award for Leadership
  • Robin Miller, Ph.D. – Faculty Award for Liberal Learning
  • Jayne White, Ed.D. – Faculty Award for Advising

In addition, the Judge Warren White scholars were honored. These are the students with the highest grade point average after completion of the first year at Drury. Warren White graduated from Drury in 1904, and served as a Greene County circuit court judge for 36 years. Each honoree will receive a $275 scholarship.

The 2012-2013 Judge Warren L. White Scholars are (name and hometown):

  • Xiao Chang – Zibo, China
  • Emily Virginia Cline – Springfield, Mo.
  • Ashley K. Coons – Springfield, Mo.
  • Ashley Darlene Cunningham – Springfield, Mo.
  • Brooke Elizabeth Foster – Nixa, Mo.
  • Laura Agnes Gaughan – Kansas City, Mo.
  • Mitchell Scott Gibbons – Springfield, Mo.
  • Shelby Nicole Hatz – Springfield, Mo.
  • Rachel Catherine Hutchinson – Olathe, Kan.
  • Kaleigh Marie Jurgensmeyer – Chesterfield, Mo.
  • Shelby Elizabeth Larson – Republic, Mo.
  • Caitlin Rebecca Lauer – St. Charles, Mo.
  • Parker Scott LiaBraaten – Spokane, Mo.
  • Deborah Peana – Springfield, Mo.
  • Nathaniel Alan Pearl – Willard, Mo.
  • Airika Danielle Poivre – Ozark, Mo.
  • Ashleigh Ann Spalding – Springfield, Mo.
  • Chelsea Layne Staab – Westerville, Ohio
  • Lucas Samuel Tebbe – Walnut Grove, Mo.
  • Jing Yi Wang – Shanghai, China
  • Carlos-Xavier Zambrano – Temecula, Calif.