Drury establishes newest chapter with selective honor society Phi Kappa Phi

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., April 20, 2015 — The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi – the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society – will establish its newest chapter at Drury University at 4 p.m., Thursday, April 23, during a ceremonial installation in Stone Chapel.

Drury will become the 331st chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, which was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine. Drury was approved to establish a chapter by the Society’s board of directors.

“The commitment to excellence at Drury University is evidenced by the superior academic environment, motivated student population, strong honors program and exceptional faculty and staff,” said Society President Tim Hulsey. “We are excited to welcome Drury as the newest chapter of Phi Kappa Phi and are confident the chapter’s commitment to recognizing and honoring academic excellence will benefit both the university and the Society.”

Membership in Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation only to the top 7.5 percent of juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students based on GPA, along with faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction. Drury will initiate its first class of students, faculty, staff and alumni during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Officers elected by the chartering group to serve the newly installed chapter include President Stephen Bomgardner, Vice President David P. Manuel, Secretary Shelley A. Wolbrink and Treasurer Aaron Jones.

“Drury’s focus of combining the liberal arts and professional studies is an ideal fit with Phi Kappa Phi as a selective, all-discipline honor society,” said Bomgardner, professor of music. “Some of Phi Kappa Phi’s many benefits include access to study abroad grants for undergraduates, fellowships to support the first year of graduate study, and professional development awards in scholarship, artistic achievement and leadership. Drury is honored to become the newest chapter for Phi Kappa Phi.”

The Society has awarded approximately $15 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, more than $1 million is awarded every two years to qualifying students and members through fellowships and grants, as well as member and chapter awards.

More than 1.25 million members have been initiated into the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, novelist David Baldacci and YouTube cofounder Chad Hurley.

For more information, visit www.PhiKappaPhi.org.


Media Contact: Stephen Bomgardner, PKP Chapter President and Professor of Music. Office: (417) 873-7388 or email: sbomgardner@drury.edu.